Fermer
Demande de Réservation

Espace Riopelle

The MNBAQ makes even more space for art

The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec will open a new chapter in its history with the creation of the Espace Riopelle, a pavilion dedicated to Jean Paul Riopelle that will be integrated into the Musée’s existing complex.

Riopelle’s dream...

The bond between Jean Paul Riopelle and the MNBAQ began many years ago. In 1956, the MNBAQ became the first museum to acquire one of Riopelle’s works, and it has been passionately committed to promoting the artist ever since. Today, the MNBAQ houses the largest public collection of works by the painter and sculptor.

In the 1980s, Riopelle himself dreamed of creating an exhibition space devoted to his own work in dialogue with the work of other artists, in what is now the Charles-Baillairgé Pavilion. Soon, in almost the same spot, his dream will become a reality.

Construction will begin in 2023, the year of Riopelle’s 100th birthday celebrations. Located at the end of Wolfe-Montcalm Avenue and overlooking the Plains of Abraham, the new pavilion will replace part of the current Central Pavilion. With its breathtaking views of the river, the building’s exceptional location will reflect the distinctive qualities of Riopelle’s work, particularly its deep connection with nature.

Vision | Highlights | Architectural Competition | News | Budget and Schedule | Jean Paul Riopelle at the MNBAQ | FAQ

Vision

  • To create an architectural environment with open, light-filled spaces for contemplation and reflection.
  • To connect art, nature, and culture to foster a rich and nuanced appreciation of the work of Jean Paul Riopelle.
  • To offer innovative technology to personalize the experience of visitors.
Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

“The Espace Riopelle will be a true intersection and create a focal point within our museum complex. Located in the heart of the Musée, the site will reflect our vision of a living and inclusive museum and will function as a locus of contemplation and discovery. This distinctive and innovative space will welcome people from all over the world to encounter and explore the foremost collection of Jean Paul Riopelle’s work.” – Jean-Luc Murray, MNBAQ’s Director General

Highlights

  • Display and enhancement of the largest public collection of Riopelle’s works
  • Creation of new dialogues between Riopelle’s work and that of contemporary artists from all disciplines
  • New educational programs focused on accessibility and inclusion
  • Realization of innovative projects, particularly in digital art​
  • Enhanced and improved overall experience for visitors

Architectural Competition

Following the architectural competition, held from March to August 2022, the Québec firm Les architectes fabg was chosen by the jury to design the Espace Riopelle. The concept was developed in collaboration with SNC-Lavalin and LEM experts-conseils.

A glimpse of the project

© Les architectes fabg

© Les architectes fabg
Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Winner

Les architectes fabg: an impressive profile

Founded in Montréal for over sixty years but known as Les architectes fabg since 1988, the Québec firm is reputed for the quality of its achievements, for which it has received nearly 50 awards and mentions in Québec and around the world. Under the direction of Éric Gauthier, winner of the Prix Ernest-Cormier, the most prestigious award bestowed by the Government of Québec in architecture, the firm has overseen technically and environmentally innovative projects such as the headquarters of the Cirque du Soleil, the head office of the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (with Lemay), the Théâtre de Quat’Sous, and the Auditorium de Verdun.

The firm has recently received the Grand Prix d’excellence of the Ordre des architectes du Québec and has particulary stood out in the museum sector, by transforming the Musée d’art de Joliette, restoring the Stewart Museum, converting the former US pavilion by Buckminster Fuller at Expo 67 into the Biosphere, an environmental museum, and creating the Montreal Science Centre in warehouses in the Old Port of Montréal.

“Our first objective was to harmonize with Riopelle. Inspired by a revealing expression of the artist who said that he was constantly fleeing, we wanted to create a building that reflects his work in perpetual motion.” – Éric Gauthier, architect and partner from the winning firm

A choice that reflects Riopelle’s work

The architecture will lend itself to numerous interpretations through its terracing in keeping with neighbouring buildings that sometimes evokes the artist’s studio with its wooden ceilings and sometimes the northern environment and the Isle-Aux-Grues landscape with its green terraces displaying varied species. Natural light will bathe the proposed circuit, which will culminate in the circular space devoted to Riopelle’s masterpiece L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg (1992), where the public will also be able to admire spectacular views on the Plains of Abraham and the majestic Saint Laurence River.

“The notion of territory, indissociable from Québec’s identity and Riopelle’s works, also admirably inspired the winning firm. Both the works in the Québec collection and those recently donated by patrons of the arts will broaden the influence of Jean Paul Riopelle’s monumental work and the new pavilion will make the overall experience of the MNBAQ even more memorable. The future Riopelle Space will become a genuine source of collective pride.” – Christiane Germain, Chair of the Board of Directors of the MNBAQ

Finalists

Here are the four applications selected by the jury to move on to the final stage of the competition:

Process and Schedule

  • Competition launch: March 31, 2022
  • Application deadline: April 29, 2022
  • Announcement of finalists: May 19, 2022
  • Announcement of the firm selected: September 7, 2022

Jury

The competition is decided by a jury of seven members who have complementary backgrounds and expertise: four eminent architects, two museum specialists, and a representative of the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation.

From left to right: Jean-Luc Murray, Director General of the MNBAQ; Ronna Tulgan Ostheimer, Head of Education at the Clark Art Institute, Massachusetts; Alain Fournier, architect; Dominique Jakob, architect (Jakob + MacFarlane); Marie-Chantal Croft, architect; Georges Leahy, architect; and Manon Gauthier, Executive Director of the Jean Paul Riopelle and General Commissioner of the Centenary Celebrations.

Jean-Luc-Murray

MNBAQ’s Director General

He has a multifaceted experience in the field of museology, where he has held various positions in the sectors of education, conservation, exhibition design as well as organization management.

Ronna Tulgan Ostheimer

Education Director of the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute in Massachusetts

She is an expert in the development of targeted audiences whose work has been recognized by her peers in American, Canadian and European museums.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Alain Fournier

Architect

A Quebec architect that has designed many buildings internationally. For several years, he has devoted himself to projects north of the 55th parallel in northern environments.

Dominique Jakob

Architect

A French architect with rich international experience. Her firm, Jakob + MacFarlane, is recognized for its playful and innovative vision, its specialization in issues related to winter weather as well as its sensitivity to sustainable development.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Marie-Chantal Croft

Architect

A Canadian architect recognized for her many achievements, including Quebec City’s Théâtre Le Diamant, and whose expertise is related to the construction or renovation of buildings in complex environments.

Georges Leahy

Architect

A retired architect with a solid backgroung in the renovation of heritage buildings in Quebec City, including the Îlot du Palais and the Petit Séminaire de Québec.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Manon Gauthier

Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation’s Executive Director and General Commissioner of the Centenary Celebrations.

A renowned cultural and philanthropic leader in Quebec and Canada, she has contributed to the development of many organizations at the national and international levels.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

.

News

Future Espace Riopelle: Les architectes fabg wins the architectural competition

The MNBAQ is pleased to unveil the winning preliminary design and firm of the architecture competition for the future Espace Riopelle, which will house the world’s largest public collection of works by Jean Paul Riopelle, slated for inauguration between the end of 2025 and the beginning of 2026.

Learn More

Budget and Schedule

This major $42.5 million project will be completed thanks to a unique partnership between the Government of Quebec, the MNBAQ, and the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation.

  • Contribution from the Government of Quebec: $20 million
  • Contribution from the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation: $20 million
  • Contribution from the MNBAQ Foundation: $2.5 million

A $2.5 million contribution from the City of Québec will allow for the creation of a brand new room dedicated to his monumental L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg (1992), a narrative fresco composed of 30 paintings. It is widely considered to be the hallmark of Riopelle’s artistic vision.

Next steps

Following the announcement of the winning firm of the architectural competition, the phases of drawing plans and specifications, and closing the Gérard-Morisset Pavilion will follow. Construction work will then begin with the opening of the new pavilion scheduled between the end of 2025 and the beginning of 2026.

Jean Paul Riopelle at the MNBAQ

The largest public collection of Riopelle’s works

The celebrations of the centenary of Jean Paul Riopelle’s birth will culminate in the inauguration of the new pavilion at the MNBAQ. But the Musée has not waited until now to honour Riopelle’s work, having devoted numerous exhibitions and publications to the artist over the years.

Explore online

Frequently Asked Questions

Here you will find questions and answers about the Espace Riopelle.

Read the FAQ

Fermer
Demande de Réservation

Espace Riopelle

Le MNBAQ propose Encore + d’espace pour l’art

Le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec écrit une nouvelle page de son histoire avec la création du futur Espace Riopelle, un pavillon dédié à Jean Paul Riopelle intégré au complexe ​architectural existant.

Le rêve de Riopelle...

Les liens profonds entre Jean Paul Riopelle et le MNBAQ ne datent pas d’hier. En 1956, le MNBAQ a été le premier musée à acquérir une de ses œuvres. Son engagement envers l’artiste a ensuite été constant. Il abrite aujourd’hui la plus importante collection publique d’œuvres du peintre et sculpteur.

Riopelle lui-même nourrissait le désir, dès les années 1980, d’installer dans l’actuel pavillon Charles-Baillairgé, un espace d’exposition consacré à son œuvre en dialogue avec celle d’autres artistes. À quelques pas de là, son rêve se concrétisera bientôt.

Les travaux de construction seront lancés en 2023, année des célébrations entourant le 100e anniversaire de Riopelle. Le nouveau pavillon, situé au bout de l’Allée Wolfe-Montcalm et donnant sur les plaines d’Abraham, remplacera – en partie – l’actuel pavillon central. L’emplacement exceptionnel du futur bâtiment, avec ses vues imprenables sur le fleuve, rejoindra les valeurs distinctives de l’œuvre de Riopelle, notamment son lien profond avec la nature.

Vision | Faits saillants | Concours d'architecture | Actualités | Budget et échéancier | Jean Paul Riopelle au MNBAQ | FAQ

Vision

  • Créer un écrin architectural proposant de beaux espaces ouverts et lumineux propices à la contemplation et à la réflexion.​
  • Lier l’art, la nature, la culture, les émotions et les sens pour offrir une appréciation riche et sensible de l’œuvre de Jean Paul Riopelle.​
  • Proposer des dispositifs innovants permettant de personnaliser son expérience.
Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

« L’Espace Riopelle deviendra un véritable carrefour, un lieu de convergence ultime au sein de notre complexe muséal. Situé au cœur du Musée, il répondra à notre vision d’avenir, soit un musée vivant et inclusif, en devenant un lieu de découvertes, de contemplation ainsi qu’en faisant de la collection de référence de l’œuvre de Jean Paul Riopelle, une vitrine internationale. Nous lui créerons un écrin distinctif, un espace innovant et ouvert sur le monde. » – Jean-Luc Murray, directeur général du MNBAQ

Faits saillants

  • Bonification et mise en valeur de la plus importante collection publique d’œuvres de Riopelle.
  • Création de dialogues inédits entre l’œuvre de Riopelle et des artistes actuels de toutes les disciplines.
  • Nouveaux programmes éducatifs axés sur l’accessibilité et l’inclusion. ​
  • Concrétisation de projets innovants, notamment en art numérique. ​
  • Expérience globale mieux adaptée pour les visiteuses et les visiteurs.

Concours d'architecture

Au terme du concours d’architecture qui s’est échelonné de mars à août 2022, c’est la firme québécoise Les architectes fabg, qui a été retenue par les membres du jury pour la conception du futur Espace Riopelle. Le concept a été développé en collaboration avec SNC-Lavalin et LEM experts-conseils.

Un avant-goût du projet

© Les architectes fabg

© Les architectes fabg
Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Lauréat

Les architectes fabg : un profil impressionnant

Fondée à Montréal il y a plus de soixante ans, mais connue sous le nom Les architectes fabg depuis 1988, la firme québécoise est réputée pour la qualité de ses réalisations qui lui ont valu près de cinquante prix et mentions. Sous la direction d’Éric Gauthier, lauréat du prix Ernest-Cormier décerné par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, l’agence a dirigé des projets innovants sur les plans technique et environnemental tels que le siège social du Cirque du Soleil, le siège social de la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (avec Lemay), le Théâtre de Quat’Sous ou l’Auditorium de Verdun.

La firme a récemment reçu le Grand Prix d’excellence de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec pour l’aménagement des nouveaux paddocks du circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, fruit de recherches menées sur l’utilisation de structures de bois massif. Dans le domaine muséal, FABG a réalisé la transformation du Musée d’art de Joliette, la restauration du Musée Stewart, l’aménagement de l’ancien pavillon des États-Unis de Buckminster Fuller à l’Expo 67 en musée de l’environnement (la Biosphère), ainsi que l’utilisation de hangars du Vieux-Port de Montréal pour créer le Centre des sciences.

« Notre objectif premier était d’entrer vraiment en résonance avec Riopelle. Inspirés par une expression de l’artiste, qui se disait « toujours en fuite », nous avons voulu créer un bâtiment à l’image de son œuvre en mouvement perpétuel. » – Éric Gauthier, architecte associé chez fabg

Un choix en résonance avec l'œuvre de Riopelle

L’architecture se prêtera à de multiples lectures, évoquant tantôt l’atelier de l’artiste avec ses plafonds de bois, tantôt la nordicité et les paysages de l’Isle-aux-Grues avec ses terrasses vertes aux essences variées. Baigné de lumière naturelle, le parcours offrira de nombreuses percées visuelles sur le parc et le fleuve, et culminera avec l'espace circulaire consacré au chef-d’œuvre de Riopelle, L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg. Un parfait dialogue entre la nature, l’art et l’architecture et un écrin à la mesure de Jean Paul Riopelle.

« La notion de territoire, indissociable de l’identité québécoise et des œuvres de Riopelle, a nourri admirablement l’inspiration de la firme lauréate. En plus de faire rayonner l’œuvre monumentale de Jean Paul Riopelle, le nouveau pavillon permettra de revisiter l’expérience globale du MNBAQ pour la rendre encore plus mémorable. Le futur Espace Riopelle deviendra un véritable objet de fierté collective. »  – Christiane Germain, présidente du conseil d’administration du MNBAQ

Finalistes

Voici les quatre candidatures qui avaient été retenues par le jury pour passer à l’étape finale du concours :

Processus et calendrier

  • Lancement du concours : 31 mars 2022
  • Date limite de dépôt des candidatures : 29 avril 2022
  • Annonce des finalistes : 19 mai 2022
  • Annonce de la firme lauréate : 7 septembre 2022

Jury

Le concours rassemble un jury composé de sept membres aux horizons et aux expertises complémentaires : quatre architectes ​de renom, deux spécialistes du milieu muséal et une représentante de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle.

De gauche à droite sur la photo, Jean-Luc-Murray, directeur général du MNBAQ, Ronna Tulgan Ostheimer, directrice de l’éducation au Clark Art Institute au Massachusetts, Alain Fournier, architecte, Dominique Jakob, architecte (Jakob-MacFarlane) Marie-Chantal Croft, architecte, Georges Leahy, architecte et Manon Gauthier, directrice générale de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle et commissaire générale des célébrations du centenaire.

Jean-Luc-Murray

Directeur général du MNBAQ

Il détient une expérience plurielle dans le domaine de la muséologie, où il a occupé diverses fonctions dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la conservation, de la conception d’expositions et de la direction d’organisations.

Ronna Tulgan Ostheimer

Directrice de l’éducation au Clark Art Institute au Massachusetts

Spécialiste des publics ciblés, dont l’action est reconnue par ses pairs des musées américains, canadiens et européens. Son apport au jury : expérience globale des visiteurs, approche contemplative, engagement dans la communauté.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Alain Fournier

Architecte

Architecte québécois qui a réalisé de nombreux projets à l’international. Depuis plusieurs années il se consacre à des projets réalisés au nord du 55e parallèle dans des environnements nordiques. Son apport au jury : lien entre l’architecture et la nordicité. L’architecture en dialogue avec sa communauté.

Dominique Jakob

Architecte

Architecte française ayant une riche expérience internationale. La firme Jakob-MacFarlane est reconnue pour sa vision ludique et innovante et sa sensibilité au développement durable. Son apport au jury : architecture distinctive, éco-responsabilité, place l’humain au centre de la vision architecturale.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Marie-Chantal Croft

Architecte

Architecte canadienne reconnue pour plusieurs de ses réalisations dont le théâtre Le Diamant. Son apport au jury : expertise liée à la construction ou la rénovation de bâtiments dans des environnements complexes.

Georges Leahy

Architecte

Architecte à la retraite possédant une riche expérience liée à la rénovation d’édifices patrimoniaux de Québec dont l'Îlot du Palais et le Petit Séminaire de Québec. Son apport au jury : expérience et sensibilité liée au patrimoine bâti de la ville de Québec.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

Manon Gauthier

Directrice générale de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle et commissaire générale des célébrations du centenaire

Une leader de renom au sein du milieu culturel et philanthropique québécois et canadien, ayant contribué au développement de nombreuses organisations nationales et internationales.

Cliquez droit ici pour changer la couleur de fond

.

Actualités

Futur Espace Riopelle : Les architectes fabg, firme lauréate du concours d’architecture

Le MNBAQ est heureux de dévoiler le concept préliminaire gagnant et le nom de la firme lauréate du concours d’architecture du futur Espace Riopelle, qui abritera la plus grande collection publique d’œuvres de Jean Paul Riopelle au monde, dont l’inauguration est prévue entre la fin de 2025 et le début de 2026.

En savoir plus

Budget et échéancier

Ce projet majeur de 42,5 M $ verra le jour grâce à un partenariat unique entre le gouvernement du Québec, le MNBAQ et la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle.

  • Contribution du gouvernement du Québec : 20 M $​
  • Contribution de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle : 20 M $​
  • Contribution de la Fondation du MNBAQ : 2,5 M $​

Une contribution complémentaire de 2,5 M $ de la Ville de Québec permettra d’aménager une toute nouvelle salle consacrée à la fresque monumentale intitulée L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg (1992), une séquence narrative de 30 tableaux considérée comme une œuvre englobant la vision artistique de Riopelle.

Prochaines étapes

À la suite de l’annonce de la firme lauréate du concours d’architecture s’enchaîneront les phases de réalisation des plans et des devis, et de fermeture du pavillon Gérard-Morisset. Les travaux de construction débuteront alors en vue d’une ouverture du nouveau pavillon prévue entre la fin de 2025 et le début de 2026.

Jean Paul Riopelle au MNBAQ

Près de 450 œuvres en ligne

D'ici l’inauguration de l'Espace Riopelle, nous vous proposons des contenus numériques pour découvrir l'univers du peintre et sculpteur.

Voir les contenus

Foire aux questions

Vous trouverez ici des questions relatives au futur Espace Riopelle.

Consulter la FAQ